Congratulations to Murray Angus

Murray Angus, in the centre at the far end of the table, with a group of Nunavut Sivuniksavut students and staff members. (PHOTO COURTESY OF NUNAVUT SIVUNIKSAVUT)

I know, it’s been two months since my last post. All I can say is work, life and other diversions, such as words printed on paper, have kept your humble content provider away from his blog hobby.

But I can’t think of a better way to start off again than to offer congratulations to Murray Angus, who helped found and run the Nunavut Sivuniksavut program in Ottawa.

On Dec. 30, Governor General Michaëlle Jean appointed him to the Order of Canada, as a member, in the education category.

Congratulations, Murray. You deserve it.

This entry was posted in Arctic, Education, Inuit, Michaelle Jean, Nunavut and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Congratulations to Murray Angus

  1. Jae says:

    I’ll take your word for it however the expansion of NS and the Clyde venture over what I would call “real” educational opportunities is giving me concerns.

  2. James Bell says:

    Well if you look at the annual Order of Canada recipient lists, you’ll see that not all are equally deserving. My personal opinion is they give too many away, a practice that, in time, devalues the award.

    But in Murray’s case, I think he does deserve it. I believe he’s one of those very few people in the world who really are motivated by altruism.

    As for NS, I have complicated views about it but on balance, I think it does far more good than harm…

  3. Throbbin says:

    “As for NS, I have complicated views about it but on balance, I think it does far more good than harm…”

    Agreed. It’s also very helpful as a a stepping stone towards higher education.

Comments are closed.